CDIC Chairman Dr. Tien-Mu Huang Honored with the 12th Elite Awards for Taiwan Banking Excellence – Extraordinary Contribution to Banking Business

The Elite Awards for Taiwan Banking Excellence, organized by the Taiwan Academy of Banking and Finance (TABF), represent the highest honor in Taiwan's financial industry. At the 12th award ceremony held on December 20, 2024, the Central Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) Chairman Dr. Tien-Mu Huang was recognized with the prestigious Extraordinary Contribution to Banking Business award. Dr. Huang has devoted 40 years to advancing financial supervision and reform, adhering to the belief in "fearless, impartial, ready to shoulder responsibility, and willing to act as needed." He has driven the development of a resilient, innovative, sustainable, and inclusive financial system, laying a solid foundation for the long-term stability of Taiwan's financial industry. This distinguished honor recognizes his outstanding contributions (refer to Attachment 1 for award rationale).

In accepting the award, Dr. Huang expressed his gratitude to the selection committee and shared this honor with colleagues from the Financial Supervisory Commission (FSC), associated institutions, and financial industry. He emphasized specifically that this award is a testament to the dedication and efforts of FSC colleagues.

In the face of an ever-changing international political and economic environment and challenges such as aging populations, climate change, technological innovation, and income inequality, Dr. Huang emphasized the importance of defining and establishing the value paradigm for Taiwan's financial industry, letting financial development become a pathway to realizing a better society. Dr. Huang pledged to lead his team under the guidance of the supervisory authorities to continue their efforts in protecting depositors' rights and promoting the sound development of the financial industry (refer to Attachment 2 for the full speech).



FSC Chairman Dr. Jin-Lung Peng (left) presents the Extraordinary Contribution to Banking Business award to CDIC Chairman Dr. Tien-Mu Huang (right)



CDIC Chairman Dr. Tien-Mu Huang delivers his award speech



CDIC Chairman Dr. Tien-Mu Huang (front row, 4th from right) with FSC Chairman Dr. Jin-Lung Peng (front row, 5th from right), TABF Chairman Dr. Paul C. D. Lei (front row, 4th from left), President Dr. Yi-Cheng Kao (front row, 1st from left), and representatives of outstanding institutions from the 12th Elite Awards for Taiwan Banking Excellence